An Architectural & Historical Note
Ayton Castle is a prominently-
The original castle, a peel tower, had once been a stronghold of the Home family. This castle was captured by the English in 1497, and the nearby church was the scene of the subsequent negotiation of the treaty of Ayton, signed on 30 September 1497. The tower was replaced by a classical mansion, which burnt down in 1834.
The estate was subsequently purchased by William Mitchell (later Mitchell-
In 1851 William Mitchell-
Extensive interior redecoration was carried out in 1875 by Bonnar & Carfrae, still largely extant, with stencilled imitation silk damask. In addition to the elaborate offices and stables block, all in red sandstone, Ayton Castle boasts a beehive type dovecote of 1745, and a magnificent West Lodge in Scots Baronial with archway and screen walls in red sandstone. Mention must be made of the visit to the castle in 1873 by Mark Twain who insisted upon buying the Dining Room fireplace mantel; it is now in the Mark Twain House & Museum in Hartford, Connecticut, having been repaired and moved there after a fire that destroyed Twain’s Stormfield villa where it had been installed. The present castle fireplace dates from that occurrence.
Following William Mitchell-
The policies are centred on Ayton Castle, a mid-
A copy of A Short History of Ayton Castle can be obtained from the factor. Please email for further details.
We are undertaking research into the history of Ayton Castle and the landscape and would be delighted to hear from anyone who is able to furnish us with information, plans, photographs or reminiscences. Please contact our hon. archivist, Mr Ian Hankinson, firstname.lastname@example.org
It is requested that cremated remains (ashes) are not scattered or buried anywhere within the grounds of Ayton Castle, including South Lodge and estate properties.
Further historic images of Ayton Castle follow -